An Evening in Syria

Louise Tickle invited me to speak at An Evening in Syria at The Royal College of Surgeons in London.  I was a bit nervous because I was giving my speech after Shadow Secretary of State for Health Andy Burnham MP and Dr Omar Abdul Gabbar and before BBC Newsnight’s Sue Lloyd Roberts and I think they are pretty used to giving speeches.

I got to leave school a little early to catch the train in to London and I practiced a few times on the way.  I had a couple swimming jokes I was going to start with, but I decided not to because Dr Omar’s pictures of hurt Syrian children were so sad.  I stood up to say my bit and it went very well.

After the speeches, we went to a museum room with loads of really gross but cool stuff.  I met a new friend called Zain and we ran around looking for the grossest stuff.  I told him my swimming jokes.  I gave everyone I met one of my wristbands.  Everyone was really nice.

5 thoughts on “An Evening in Syria

  1. Pingback: Joseph Swims for Syria | Holme Grange School

  2. Hi Jospeph
    I’ve just come across your website and wanted to say how wonderful it was to meet you! 🙂 I remember Zain telling you some jokes too that evening but they didn’t make any sense and he was the only one laughing at them…oh dear!
    I have somewhat misleadingly told Zain that you’ve nearly swum the English channel to France whilst he was moaning about his swimming lesson the other week and that got him straight back into the pool so thanks for being a fab role model!
    Lots of love & hi from Zain
    Khurshid (Zain’s mummy) xx

    • Hi Zain,
      Where do you go to take your swimming lessons? I go to a gym called Esporta to go swimming. I am getting ready to go to Turkey and I am very excited. I had a very good time at the event with you looking at all the bones and other gross stuff.
      Love,
      Joseph

Leave a Reply

